Haseen Dillruba

What started as a genre-busting melange of a crime thriller, murder mystery and romantic drama rapidly – as in slippery slope rapidly – deteriorates in a WTF climax in the last 15 minutes. Though slowly, the tension was building and I did want to solve the whodunnit…until the leads started to bring a cheap mystery novel’s plot to life.

I have always enjoyed watching Taapsee Pannu’s performances and lately Vikrant Massey’s too. However, both their characters so frequently slipped out-of-character throughout the plot that I kept scratching my head thinking who the writer really wanted me to sympathize with.

Not only the main leads, the mother-in-law, the father-in-law all just came and went as it suited the writer. The only consistently negative character was Harshvardhan Rane’s.

I like the storytelling format of Taapsee’s narration of her life story to the police officer in flashback, interspersed with a real-time investigation.

I am facing a classic attribution modeling problem rating this movie. If I go with the first impression method I’d say this is a 8/10. If I go with the classic – but very flawed – last click model I’d be at a 1/10. A weighted average or a data-driven attribution seems hard to calculate due to the volatility of the plot. Call me generous but I enjoyed it enough to give it a 6/10.

Add your opinion