Bajirao Mastani

While I am still trying to collect my jaw from my lap I urge you to drop what you are doing and make a beeline to the next closest movie theatre. Bribe ’em, threaten ’em, cheat ’em, kiss ’em…get that ticket!!

For the first time in my life I bunked work (no school/college bunking experience ever) this morning to go watch the first show of Bajirao Mastani and man was it worth it!

I got sucked into a different world of sheer EPICness. After disasters like Sawariyan and Shirin Farhad Sanjay Leela Bhansali came back with so much chutzpah I am still in denial that I have stepped out of the movie theatre.

I am a lover of good prose and this movie gave me a gamut of dialogues that were music to my soul. Hats off to whoever wrote those. My throat choked more than once and my eyes are well lubricated.

Bajirao Mastani is a perfect amalgamation of breathtaking sets, royal costumes, accomplished actors, well-knit story, nunanced characters, charismatic cinematography, gorgeous choreography, heart-pounding action, credible incredible graphic work and sumptuous tunes. An experience well worth the $10 you will shell out…or maybe $20 because once is not enough.

While Karan Johar & Yash Chopra were busy making Prem & Rahul’s families look glamorous, here comes Sanjay Leela Bhansali and sprinkles the pixie dust of grandeur across an entire kingdom. He left me in complete awe.

I wish I was on a scale of 20 (this would deserve it!) but for now here’s the verdict: a solid 10/10

BM

Add your opinion

